New York Safe Boating Course
The Queensbury Department of Parks & Recreation offers The New York Safe Boating Course in April and July, for anyone 10-17 years of age.
A safety certificate may be obtained by completing the New York Safe Boating Course, sponsored by the Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation. The course is designed as a comprehensive boating course, educating and teaching the fundamentals of safe boating operation and has been approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators.
You must hold a safety certificate if:
Age of Legal Boat operation/ education requirements:
• Children under the age of 10 may operate a mechanically propelled vessel only with direct supervision by a person over the age of 18.
• Children 10-18 years of age may only operate a mechanically propelled vessel with direct supervision of a person over the age of 18 or after successfully completing an approved boating safety course.
• Adults 18 years of age and older may operate a mechanically propelled vessel without an approved boating safety certificate.
Personal Water Craft mandatory education requirements:
New York requires that anyone operating a personal watercraft complete an approved course in boating safety or otherwise be accompanied, on board, by someone 18 years of age or older who is the holder of an approved boating safety certificate. Certificates are required to be carried at all times when operating the personal watercraft.
Minimum age for operation:
In order to operate a personal watercraft within New York the operator must be a minimum of 14 years of age and hold an approved boating safety certificate. Although it is not recommended, those under 14 may operate a personal watercraft provided there is a certified operator over the age of 18 on board accompanying this individual. It is also strongly discouraged that small under-age individuals be permitted to ride forward of an adult as it may lead to serious personal injury. It is also strongly recommended that no person be permitted to ride a personal watercraft if he or she can not hold on to the person in front (or hand holds) and can not keep both feet on the deck in order to maintain balance during operation.
Boating without a required safety certificate is a violation of the law. The first conviction can lead to a fine and/or imprisonment. The penalties increase for a second conviction. The owner of the boat may also be in violation of the law if the operator does not have the required boating safety certificate.